Thérèse Frère, visual artist

Thérèse Frère (neé Brochu) is a woman with a passion for art. With a career spanning more than 25 years, her artistic scope is most impressive.

A native of Beauce county, Thérèse demonstrated at an early age her artistic talents. In 1945, while attending the Ecole Normale Laval de Québec, she received first prize in visual arts.
As a young teacher, she took charge of a rural school in Beauce, and subsequently in Charlesbourg. Thérèse then relocated to Toronto in order to learn English and help satisfy her sense of adventure. After then moving to Ottawa, she met and married Robert with whom she had six children. Widowed at forty-two, she dedicated her life to raising her young family, and it is not until 1974 that she is able begin painting once more. Ferme a St Pascal
She enrolled in the Ottawa School of Art, and in 1981 is able to attend the Banff School of Fine Arts. Her interest in other media led her to study watercolour with Jean-Paul Ladouceur. While studying with Jeneane Lunn and Alan Lachman, she discovers her true voice in the form of dry pastels. The spontaneity and instantaneous results of pastels allow her to truly express the music of her art.

 Therese a loeuvre

Her passion and energy allow her to produce works for over fifty individual and collective art shows since 1981.

Many of her works have long been presented in many of the region's galleries, both in Ontario and Québec. Over the course of many years, her home has become both her studio and gallery. A simple phone call is all that is needed to be immediately invited to admire her ever-changing collection. Her spontaneous spirit, along with her facility with pastels, allows new works to be continually added.

Always contributing to her community, Thérèse has held posts such as chair of the committee for the architectural preservation of Vanier and member of the Vanier mural committee, a highly publicized project.

Since 1981, Thérèse has been honoured on a number of occasions by various groups and associations including the "Institut canadien-français d'Ottawa", the "Ottawa Art Association", the "National Association of Canadian Pastellists", and the "Association des enseignants et enseignantes franco-ontariens". After an extensive exhibition representing the Outaouais region, she was also honoured by the "Service de la culture de la ville de Hull".
Many of her works have also been selected for the covers a number of books, school texts, poetry collections and literary creations.
Thérèse Frère has chosen for her mission to interpret nature and to communicate its beauty while immortalizing our heritage. Her works participate in a number of international private collections throughout Canada, the United States, Europe and Japan.

Thérèse enjoys transmitting her love of art and communicating her vision by participating in a number of lectures and workshops. The following pages will provide you with an example of her passion.

Please click on the link at right to see just an example of some of her work.

Paintings

Thérèse has travelled extensively in the Outaouais region but has also fallen in love with the rugged coastlines and villages of Newfoundland.  Please follow the link on the right to see some of her recent works from her more than five trips there.

Newfoundland

Thérèse Frère, artiste en arts visuels

Thérèse Frère (née Brochu) est une femme passionnée d'art. Ayant plus de vingt-cinq ans de carrière comme peintre, elle nous impressionne par un parcours artistique des plus impressionnants.

Beauceronne d'origine, Thérèse a démontré très jeune ses talents d'artiste. Alors étudiante à l'Ecole Normale Laval de Québec, elle obtenait en 1945, le premier prix en arts visuels.
Se destinant à l'enseignement, elle prend charge d'une école dans la Beauce et par la suite, c'est à Charlesbourg qu'elle exerce sa profession. Au cours d'un été, elle se rend à Toronto pour se familiariser d'avantage avec la langue anglaise. Une nouvelle orientation se dessine, elle rencontre son mari et devient mère de six enfants. Dédiée entièrement à sa famille, ce n'est qu'en 1974 qu'elle peut enfin retrouver toiles et pinceaux. Ferme a St Pascal
Elle s'inscrit à l'Ecole d'art d'Ottawa et fait, en 1981, un séjour au Banff Centre of Fine Arts. Elle s'intéresse à d'autres média et c'est l'aquarelle qu'elle pratique avec Jean-Paul Ladouceur. Elle étudie par la suite le pastel, sous l'égide de Jeneane Lunn et Alan Lachman. Le pastel deviendra son medium préféré, d'ailleurs celui qui nous a fait connaître et apprécier Thérèse Frère.

 Therese a loeuvre

Ses réalisations ont été très nombreuses depuis 1981: une cinquantaine d'expositions à titre individuel et plusieurs participations à des expositions collectives.

Plusieurs de ses oeuvres ont été longtemps exposées dans certaines galeries d'art de la région, au Québec et en Ontario. Sa résidence est devenue, au fil des ans, son studio et son lieu d'exposition. Il ne suffit que d'un coup de fil pour que Thérèse vous invite. Vous êtes les bienvenus pour y admirer ses tableaux exposés en permanence. Et comme Thérèse peint sur place, les pastels doux répondent bien à sa spontanéité à reproduire le mouvement, les effets changeants de la nature. De nouveaux tableaux s'ajoutent continuellement aux cimaises de sa galerie.

Très impliquée au niveau communautaire. Thérèse est présentement présidente du comité consultatif local pour la conservation de l'architecture de Vanier. Elle est de plus, membre actif du comité des murales de Vanier, projet qui a été fortement publicisé.

Depuis 1981, Thérèse a été honorée à maintes reprises, par différents groupes ou associations, dont l'Institut canadien-français d'Ottawa, la Ottawa Art Association, l'Association nationale des pastellistes du Canada, l'Association des enseignants et enseignantes franco-ontariens et le service de la culture de la ville de Hull, pour une exposition de ses tableaux représentant la région de l'Outaouais.
Plusieurs de ses oeuvres ont servi à illustrer plusieurs pages couverture de livres d'art, de manuels scolaires, de recueils de poésie, de créations littéraires.
Thérèse Frère s'est donné comme mission d'interpréter la nature et d'en communiquer sa beauté tout en immortalisant notre patrimoine. Ses oeuvres, hommages à la nature, font partie de collections publiques privées au Canada, aux Etats-Unis, au Japon et en Europe.

Thérèse aime transmettre son amour de l'art et aime communiquer ses connaissances en acceptant de participer à des colloques et ateliers. Les pages suivantes vous donneras quelques exemples de sa passion.

S'il-vous-plait, suivez le lien a la droite pour voir quelques unes de ses oeuvres.

Oeuvres

Thérèse a beaucoup peint la region de l'outaouais mais a aussi tomber en amour avec les paysages et villages de Terre-Neuve.  Suivez le lien a la droite pour voir quelques exemples de ses oeuvres peint durant ses cinq voyages dans cette province.

Terre-Neuve